Student Perspectives: A Day in the Life/ Balancing Family, Schoolwork and Self-care

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
About Alejandra: Alejandra is originally from Caracas, Venezuela, where she studied Chemical Engineering. She co-founded a start-up in Venezuela and then moved to Boston in 2014, where she worked in Industrial Water Treatment, transitioning from a technical role to a Sales and Marketing position. After that, she continued her career in Sales and Business Development across different industries, including startups. While at Anderson, Alejandra is concentrating in Marketing and Entrepreneurship. Outside of school, Alejandra cares deeply about mentoring others (she is a Riordan Fellows mentor), loves to cook, and enjoys the outdoors and exercising (big Peloton fan!).

Hi there! My name is Alejandra Perez, and I’m a first year full-time MBA student at UCLA Anderson. I am originally from Caracas, Venezuela, where I studied Chemical Engineering. I’ve worked in sales, marketing, and engineering projects across a wide range of industries (from manufacturing to tech), including my own start-up! While at Anderson, I am focusing on Marketing and Entrepreneurship.

I chose Anderson because of the unique opportunity to start my own business idea through BCO- the Business Creation Option- a capstone project in which students research and develop a business idea that could potentially be launched afterwards! I also chose Anderson because of its people. I always felt welcomed and valued, and the sharing success trait was evident since day 1.

Navigating the business school experience in a virtual setting has been a challenge, but worth it!

There are countless events and activities going on every single day, so it is important to prioritize what is more important to you and will add more value to your experience. The benefit of a virtual environment is that it allows us to actually attend more events that we would be able to in person!