Day in the Life: Flex

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
DayInTheLife-BlogHeader

Hi everyone, my name is Jong Yoon Park, a first….oh, now a second-year MBA student at UCLA Anderson. I was born and raised in Seoul, South Korea, and this MBA is my first time to live in the US. Prior to Anderson, I worked as a strategic planning manager at Hyundai Steel, a steel business division of Hyundai-Kia Motor Group. Electric Vehicles, Autonomous Driving, and many other mega trends disrupted the entire automotive industry, so I decided to come to US and see how these new technologies really work.

Then voilà! I luckily got the internship at Flex, as a summer strategy manager to assess global automotive OEMs’ battery strategy. Flex is global contract manufacturing company, making almost everything from healthcare devices to auto components. I became quickly interested in its wide range of customers and efforts to improve to become a tech-manufacturing company. It has been 4 weeks, but I have already met my CEO herself in-person and had various advisory sessions with supportive supervisors. This is truly interesting opportunity to have a broad exposure to a wide range of industries! Besides, it is the hybrid internship, so I have already been to the office, production site, and my cozy room!

Picture1

My typical day goes like this:

6:00 am – Wake up. My morning starts from meditation and journaling to set up calm but positive tone for the day. I enjoy morning run and workout, such as gym, basketball, or golf. Since Flex has many global offices, my email inbox already got new emails around this time. Cups of tea or coffee finally wakes me up.

8:30am – To the (Zoom) Office. Whether it is remote or on-site, it is not too far for me to get to the office. When I am in LA, I simply turn on my laptop and read through EV and battery news, which you can see so easily every day. The Office has this handy, lovely coffee machine, so I prefer starting a day in the office to my home office. 😉