Getting Smart Fast on Impact Investing

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
In my life’s journey prior to Fuqua, I worked as a consultant, (aka hired brain) in the public sector. My work involved advising urban school districts in how to best efficiently use their resources. Through this work, I saw how conversations were sometimes asking “How do we survive with what we have” instead of “How do we innovate?” That’s when the lightbulb went off in my head and I became interested in the fields of philanthropy and impact investing as ways to nurture innovation in the social sector.

Unfortunately, I had zero experience with impact investing! If anything, those two words, “impact investing” felt like a distant hashtag that had magically appeared in the circles of the impact-minded. That’s why I decided to pursue my MBA at Fuqua with a concrete goal of participating in its CASE i3 Consulting Practicum (CASE i3CP). This program pairs a team of select MBA students with an impact investing question that a company is wrestling with. I knew that it was the experience I needed in order to learn more about this space. After half-a-year of hard work, my CASE i3CP journey is ending. As I reflect, I wonder about how I would respond if an employer or classmate asks about my CASE i3CP experience and what I got out of it. My first reaction would be to smile, and then I would share 3 key things that I took away from this amazing journey:

1. Gaining Hands-on Experience Developing a Real Impact Investing Deliverable

One of the most important things that I took away from CASE i3CP was the hands-on experience of developing a real impact investing deliverable that will be used by our client.