Day in the (Virtual) Life: Deloitte and Erewhon Market

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
Post is a part of the Day in the Life series - each post is written by a current UCLA Anderson student who shares their "Day in the Life"

DayInTheLife-BlogHeader

Hi everyone! My name is Austin Josiah and I am a rising 2nd year at UCLA Anderson. Originally born in Southern California (Orange County), I grew up in the other Orange County in Orlando, Florida. For undergrad, I attended the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School where I studied finance and legal studies and was also heavily involved with the sports business club. Upon graduating, I began my career in financial services, working as a rotational analyst at Morgan Stanley Wealth Management. During my last two years before business school, I pivoted to the Private Wealth Management division at Morgan Stanley, working on the strategy and business management team helping grow the ultra-high net-worth business at the firm. I came to business school to pursue a career in strategic planning within the sports industry and was able to land a strategy and operations consulting position at Deloitte. However, due to COVID-19, Deloitte shortened the internship to a two-week virtual program, and in the meantime, I was fortunate enough to land a job as a strategy intern at Erewhon Market, a high-end LA-based grocery chain. Thus, I will talk about these two weeks where I am navigating both internships.

7:15am: My alarm goes off! I roll out of bed and read some of the news and updates currently going on in the world before I grab some cereal and get ready for my first Zoom meeting. Today is the end of the first of two weeks at Deloitte and it begins with a debrief networking session with 25 other Deloitte Summer Associates and Practitioners based in the LA office at 8 AM PST.

Austin Photo 1